# Development of Selected Tourism Destinations under CBDD

Posted On: 17 MAR 2025 3:45PM by PIB Delhi

The Ministry of Tourism under its Challenge Based Destination Development (CBDD), a sub-scheme of Swadesh Darshan scheme has identified 42 destinations in the country under 4 categories as per the details given below:

S. No.	Thematic Category	No. of destinations selected
1	Spiritual Tourism	11
2	Culture & Heritage	16
3	Vibrant Village Program	5
4	Ecotourism and Amrit Dharohar Sites	10
Total	•	42

Details of the 42 identified destinations under CBDD is annexed.

The Ministry of Tourism has also shared a template to the State Governments/UT Administrations for formulation of detailed action plan to submit project proposals.

As per the procedure, the proposals received under the scheme are examined on the given parameters & scheme guidelines and thereafter appraised by the Ministry of Tourism and considered for sanctioning. Under the CBDD scheme, adequate focus has also been given to include softer interventions in addition to hard components while appraising the project.

This information was given by Union Minister for Tourism and Culture Shri Gajendra Singh Shekhawat in a written reply in Lok Sabha today.

\*\*\*

#### Sunil Kumar Tiwari

## tourism4pib[at]gmail[dot]com

#### **ANNEXURE**

## List of 42 identified destinations under 'Challenge Based Destination Development'

S.No.	State	Destination	Category
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Nagarjuna Sagar	Culture & Heritage
2.	Adhra Pradesh	Ahobilam Temple	Spiritual Tourism

3.	Arunachal Pradesh	Kibitho	Vibrant Village Programme
4.	Arunachal Pradesh	Bichom Dam Site	Ecotourism and Amrit Dharohar
5.	Assam	Sivasagar	Ecotourism and Amrit Dharohar
6.	Bihar	Bhagalpur	Culture & Heritage
7.	Bihar	Saran District (Sonepur Fair)	Culture & Heritage
8.	Chhattisgarh	Mayali Bagicha	Ecotourism and Amrit Dharohar
9.	Goa	Mayem Village	Ecotourism and Amrit Dharohar
10.	Gujarat	Porbandar	Spiritual Tourism
11.	Gujarat	Thol Village	Ecotourism and Amrit Dharohar
12.	Gujarat	Vadnagar	Culture & Heritage
13.	Himachal Pradesh	Kaza	Culture & Heritage
14.	Himachal Pradesh	Rakchham, Chhitkul	Vibrant Village Programme
15.	Jharkhand	RamrekhaDham	Spiritual Tourism
16.	Kerala	Varkala	Culture & Heritage
17.	Kerala	Thalassery	Spiritual Tourism
18.	Karnataka	Bidar	Culture & Heritage
19.	Karnataka	Udupi	Ecotourism and Amrit Dharohar
20.	Ladakh	Mushkoh Village	Ecotourism and Amrit Dharohar
21.	Lakshadweep	Lakshadweep	Ecotourism and Amrit Dharohar
22.	Madhya Pradesh	Mandu	Culture & Heritage
23.	Madhya Pradesh	Orchha	Spiritual Tourism
24.	Maharashtra	Ahmednagar	Culture & Heritage
25.	Manipur	LangthabalKonug	Culture & Heritage
26.	Meghalaya	Nartiang Village	Spiritual Tourism
27.	Meghalaya	Mawphlang Village	Culture & Heritage
28.	Nagaland	Doyang Reservoir	Ecotourism and Amrit Dharohar
29.	Nagaland	Impur Village	Spiritual Tourism
30.	Puducherry	White Town	Culture & Heritage
31.	Punjab	Ferozpur (Hussainiwala Border)	Culture & Heritage
32.	Punjab	Rupnagar (Anandpur Sahib)	Spiritual Tourism
33.	Sikkim	Gnathang Village	Vibrant Village Programme
34.	Sikkim	Kabi	Spiritual Tourism
35.	Tamil Nadu	Rameswaram Island	Spiritual Tourism
36.	Tamil Nadu	Thanjavur	Culture & Heritage
37.	Telangana	Nalgonda	Culture & Heritage
38.	Telangana	Kamareddy	Ecotourism and Amrit Dharohar
39.	Uttar Pradesh	Mahoba	Culture & Heritage
40.	Uttarakhand	Mana Village	Vibrant Village Programme

41.	Uttarakhand	Jadung	Vibrant Village Programme
42.	Uttarakhand	Kainchidham	Spiritual Tourism

\*\*\*\*

(Release ID: 2111806)