Tourism Ministry notifies 57 destinations in the country for development under Swadesh Darshan 2.0

Posted On: 05 FEB 2024 5:18PM by PIB Delhi

The Ministry of Tourism is the nodal agency for the formulation of national policies and programs and for the co-ordination of activities of various Central Government Agencies, State Governments/UTs and the Private Sector for the development and promotion of tourism in the country. Major functions of the Ministry of Tourism are:

- i. All policy matters
- ii. Planning
 - iii. Co-ordination with other Ministries, Departments, State/Union Territory Administrations
- iv. Regulation
- v. Infrastructure & Product Development
- vi. Research, Analysis, Monitoring and Evaluation
- vii. International Co-operation and External Assistance
- viii. Legislation and Parliamentary Work
- ix. Overall Review of the Functioning of the Field Offices
- x. Marketing & Promotion Work

The Ministry of Tourism promotes the tourism destinations and tourism products of the country in a holistic manner both within the country and overseas markets. Promotions are also undertaken through the Website and Social Media platforms of the Ministry. The tourist destinations in the country are also amplified through the different promotional materials, films and other collaterals developed by the Ministry. Ministry of Tourism also participates in travel fairs/exhibitions held in overseas markets to showcase India's tourism destinations and products. In addition, Ministry of Tourism releases media campaigns in important and potential markets overseas and within the country under the "Incredible India" brand – line, to promote various tourism destinations and products of the country.

The Ministry of Tourism launched the Swadesh Darshan Scheme for development of theme-based tourist circuits. A total of 76 projects have been sanctioned. The Ministry of Tourism has revamped the Swadesh Darshan Scheme as Swadesh Darshan 2.0 (SD2.0) with the objective to develop sustainable and responsible tourism destinations, following a destination & tourism-centric approach. In line with the scheme guidelines, the respective State/UT prepares State Perspective Plan and the Ministry of Tourism selects destination for development accordingly. The Ministry has notified 57 destinations in the country for development under SD2.0. The details of the projects sanctioned under the Swadesh Darshan 1.0 Scheme and the destinations notified under SD2.0 Scheme are at Annexure-I.

The Ministry of Tourism launched National Mission on Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Heritage Augmentation Drive (PRASHAD) Scheme with the objective of integrated development of identified pilgrimage destinations. The scheme aimed at creation of pilgrimage/spiritual tourism infrastructure

development at the identified destinations. A total of 46 projects have been sanctioned under the scheme. The details of projects sanctioned under the PRASHAD Scheme is given at Annexure-II.

The reply was given by Union Minister of Tourism Shri G.K Reddy in Lok Sabha today.

ANNEXURE-I

Circuit wise list of projects under Swadesh Darshan Scheme from FY 2014-15 till 21.01.2024

(Amount Rs. in Crore)

Sr. No.	Name of the Theme	Number of projects	Amount Sanctioned
1.	Buddhist Circuit	05	319.01
2.	Coastal Circuit	10	631.39
3.	Desert Circuit	01	50.01
4.	Eco Circuit	06	415.44
5.	Heritage Circuit	10	742.85
6.	Himalayan Circuit	07	587.92
7.	Krishna Circuit	02	153.19
8.	North-East Circuit	10	816.13
9.	Ramayana Circuit	02	196.66
10.	Rural Circuit	02	101.62
11.	Spiritual Circuit	13	672.61
12.	Tirthankar Circuit	01	33.96
13.	Tribal Circuit	04	371.47
14.	Wildlife Circuit	02	186.78
15	Wayside	01	15.07
	TOTAL	76	5294.11

List of Destinations notified under Swadesh Darshan Scheme 2.0

S.N.	States/Union Territory	Destinations Notified
1	Andhra Pradesh	Gandikota, Arakku-Lambassingi
2	Arunachal Pradesh	Nacho, Mechuka
3	Assam	Jorhat, Kokrajhar
4	Bihar	Gaya, Nalanda
5	Chhattisgarh	Bilaspur, Jagdalpur
6	Goa	Porvorim, Colva
7	Gujarat	Dholavira, Dwarka
8	Haryana	Panchkula (Morni)
9	Himachal Pradesh	Pong Dam
10	Jammu & Kashmir	Basholi

11	Jharkhand	Chandil	
12	Karnataka	Hampi, Mysuru	
13	Kerala	Kumarakom, Kozhikode (Beypore)	
14	Madhya Pradesh	Gwalior, Chitrakoot	
15	Maharashtra	Sindhudurg, Ajanta-Ellora	
16	Manipur	Moirang (Bishnupur)	
17	Meghalaya	Shillong, Sohra	
18	Mizoram	Aizawl, Champhai	
19	Nagaland	Niuland, Chumukedima	
20	Odisha	Koraput, Debrigarh along with special attraction of 'Khinda Village'	
21	Punjab	Amritsar, Kapurthala	
22	Rajasthan	Bundi (Keshoraipatan), Jodhpur	
23	Sikkim	Gangtok, Gyalshing	
24	Tamil Nadu	Mamallapuram, The Nilgiris	
25	Telangana	Bhongir, Ananthagiri	
26	Tripura	Agartala, Unakoti	
27	Uttar Pradesh	Prayagraj, Naimisharanya	
28	Uttarakhand	Pittoragarh, Champavat	
29	Chandigarh	Chandigarh	
30	Lakshadweep	Lakshadweep	
31	Puducherry	Puducherry, Karaikal	
32	Ladakh	Leh, Kargil	
	Total	57	

ANNEXURE-II

State wise list of projects sanctioned under PRASHAD Scheme from FY 2014-15 till 31.01.2024.

(Amount Rs. in Crore)

S. No.	Name of State/ UT	Number of Projects	Sanctioned Amount
1	Andhra Pradesh	3	124.89
2	Arunachal Pradesh	1	37.88
3	Assam	1	29.80
4	Bihar	2	45.81
5	Chhattisgarh	1	48.44
6	Gujarat	5	205.53
7	Haryana	1	48.53
8	Jammu & Kashmir	1	40.46
9	Jharkhand	1	36.79

10	Karnataka	1	45.71
11	Kerala	1	45.19
12	Madhya Pradesh	2	93.92
13	Maharashtra	1	52.92
14	Meghalaya	1	29.29
15	Mizoram	1	44.89
16	Nagaland	2	43.44
17	Odisha	1	50.00
18	Punjab	2	37.97
19	Rajasthan	1	32.64
20	Sikkim	1	33.32
21	Tamil Nadu	2	18.85
22	Telangana	3	142.28
23	Tripura	1	37.80
23	Uttar Pradesh	6	130.28
25	Uttarakhand	3	145.28
26	West Bengal	1	30.03
	Grand Total	46	1631.93

BY/SK

(Release ID: 2002656)