GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.928 # ANSWERED ON 27.07.2023

DEVELOPMENT OF NEW TOURIST DESTINATIONS

928# SMT. GEETA ALIAS CHANDRAPRABHA:

Will the Minister of **TOURISM** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether a plan to develop new tourist destinations has been chalked out by Government to promote tourism in the country;
- (b) if so, the total number of new tourist destinations selected so far under this scheme, location-wise and State-wise details thereof;
- (c) whether any site in Uttar Pradesh has been selected under this scheme, if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) whether plans for providing air connectivity to the selected new tourist destinations have been drawn, if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF TOURISM

(SHRI G. KISHAN REDDY)

(a) to (d): Development of Tourism is primarily the responsibility of the respective State Government/Union Territory Administration. However, the Ministry of Tourism under its 'Swadesh Darshan Scheme' (SDS) provides financial assistance for development of tourism infrastructure in the country. This scheme has been revamped by the Ministry of Tourism as 'Swadesh Darshan 2.0 (SD2.0)' with the objective to develop sustainable and responsible tourism destinations. The Ministry of Tourism has identified 55 destinations for development in the country including Uttar Pradesh under SD2.0 scheme, the details of which is annexed.

The Ministry of Tourism has appointed 'Project Development and Management Consultants (PDMCs)' for multiple destinations identified under SD2.0 scheme. The model template for preparation of Destination master plan by the PDMCs include assessment of the destinations and covering various aspects of destination connectivity including air connectivity.

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.928# ANSWERED ON 27.07.2023 REGARDING DEVELOPMENT OF NEW TOURIST DESTINATIONS

S. No.	States/Union Territories	Destinations Identified.
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Gandikota, Arakku-Lambassingi
2.	Arunachal Pradesh	Bomjir,Mechuka
3.	Assam	Jorhat, Kokrajhar
4.	Bihar	Gaya, Nalanda
5.	Chhattisgarh	Bilaspur, Jagdalpur
6.	Goa	Porvorim, Colva
7.	Gujarat	Dholavira, Dwarka
8.	Haryana	Panchkula (Morni)
9.	Himachal Pradesh	Pong Dam
10.	Jammu & Kashmir	Basholi
11.	Jharkhand	Chandil
12.	Karnataka	Hampi, Mysuru
13.	Kerala	Kumarakom, Kozhikode (Beypore)
14.	Madhya Pradesh	Gwalior, Chitrakoot
15.	Maharashtra	Sindhudurg
16.	Manipur	Moirang (Bishnupur)
17.	Meghalaya	Shillong, Sohra
18.	Mizoram	Aizawl, Champhai
19.	Nagaland	Niuland, Chumukedima
20.	Odisha	Koraput
21.	Punjab	Amritsar, Kapurthala
22.	Rajasthan	Bundi (Keshoraipatan), Jodhpur
23.	Sikkim	Gangtok, Gyalshing
24.	Tamil Nadu	Mamallapuram, The Nilgiris
25.	Telangana	Bhongir, Ananthagiri
26.	Tripura	Agartala, Unakoti
27.	Uttar Pradesh	Prayagraj, Naimisharanya
28.	Uttarakhand	Pittoragarh, Champavat
29.	Chandigarh	Chandigarh
30.	Lakshadweep	Lakshadweep
31.	Puducherry	Puducherry, Kariakal
32.	Ladakh	Leh, Kargil
	Total	55

LIST OF IDENTIFIED DESTINATONS UNDER SWADESH DARSHAN SCHEME 2.0