## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

# RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3981#

ANSWERED ON 06.04.2023

#### DEVELOPMENT OF TOURISM IN BUNDELKHAND REGION

### 3981# SMT. GEETA ALIAS CHANDRAPRABHA:

Will the Minister of **TOURISM** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether any special plan is being worked on to develop tourism in Bundelkhand region of the State of Uttar Pradesh;
- (b) if so, whether the tourist centres, located in Bundelkhand, have been identified;
- (c) if so, the names of the districts in Bundelkhand region and details of the identified tourism centres there; and
- (d) the details of development work which have been carried out during the last five years along with the total amount spent for this purpose?

#### **ANSWER**

#### THE MINISTER OF TOURISM

(SHRI G. KISHAN REDDY)

(a) to (d): Development of Tourism is primarily responsibility of the respective State Government/UT Administration. However, the Ministry of Tourism under its schemes of 'Swadesh Darshan' and 'Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual, Heritage Augmentation Drive (PRASHAD)' provides financial assistance to the State Governments/Union Territory Administrations for tourism infrastructure development in the country. The details of projects sanctioned under Swadesh Darshan scheme in the State of Uttar Pradesh including its Bundelkhand region is annexed.

The Ministry of Tourism has now revamped the SDS as Swadesh Darshan 2.0 (SD2.0) with the objective to develop sustainable and responsible tourist destinations and has identified 'Prayagraj' and 'Naimisharanya' for development.

\*\*\*\*\*

### **ANNEXURE**

**STATEMENT** IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3981# ANSWERED ON 06.04.2023 REGARDING DEVELOPMENT OF TOURISM IN BUNDELKHAND REGION

## (Amount in ₹ crore)

	I		T	1	liiouiit iii	1 01010)
S. No.	Circuit/ Sanction Year	Name of the Project	Districts covered	Amount Sanctioned	Amount released	Amount utilised
1	Buddhist Circuit 2016-17	1	Srawasti Kushinagar Siddharthnagar	87.89	72.56	69.82
2	Ramayana Circuit 2016-17	1	Chitrakoot Prayagraj	69.45	64.09	56.03
3	Spiritual Circuit 2016-17	Development of Ahar-Aligarh-Kasganj-Sarosi (Unnao)-Pratapgarh-Kausambi-Mirzapur-Gorakhpur-Domariyaganj-Basti-Barabanki-Azamgarh-Kairana-Baghpat-Shahjahanpur	Shahjahanpur Basti Bulandshahar Aligarh Kasganj Unnao Pratapgarh Kaushambi Mirzapur Gorakhpur Shamli Siddharthnagar Bagpat Barabanki Azamgarh	71.91	68.32	66.56
4	Spiritual Circuit 2016-17	Development of Bijnor-Meerut- Kanpur- Kanpur- Dehat- Banda- Ghazipur-Salempur- Ghosi- Balia-Ambedkar Nagar-Aligarh- Fatehpur-Deoria- Mahoba-Sonbhadra- Chandauli-Mishrikh- Bhadohi	Meerut Kanpur Kanpur Dehat Banda Ghazipur Deoria	67.51	64.14	63.62

			Chandauli Sitapur Sant Ravidas Nagar			
5	Heritage Circuit 2016-17	Nagar)- Chauri Chaura, Shaheed Sthal (Fatehpur)- Mahuar shaheed Sthal (Ghosi)-	Sant Kabir Nagar Gorakhpur Fatehpur Mau	33.92	32.27	32.30
6	Ramayana Circuit 2017-18	Development of Ayodhya	Ayodhya	127.21	115.46	108.62
7	Spiritual Circuit 2018-19	Development of Jewar- Dadri-Sikandrabad- Noida-Khurja-Banda	Banda Gautambuddha Nagar Bulandshahar	12.03	11.43	9.63
8	Spiritual Circuit 2018-19	Development of Gorakhnath Temple (Gorakhpur), Devipattan Temple (Balrampur) and Vatvashni Temple (Domariyagunj)	_	18.30	16.81	12.61

\*\*\*\*\*