Ministry of Tourism promotes Seven Liberation destinations (Saptha Moksha Puri) of India by undertaking promotional campaigns in domestic and global markets.

Posted On: 07 APR 2023 9:10AM by PIB Delhi

Ministry of Tourism, inter-alia, promotes tourist destinations of India, including the Saptha Moksha Puri (Seven Liberation destinations), viz., Ayodhya, Mathura, Maya (Haridwar), Kashi (Varanasi), Kanchi Avantika (Ujjain), Puri (Odisha) and Dwaravati (Dwaraka, Gujarat), in a holistic manner. It undertakes promotional campaigns in domestic and global markets through electronic, print and digital media to promote the various tourist destinations and products of the country. Further promotions are also undertaken through the official web-site as well as through social media handles of the Ministry.

Further, Ministry of Tourism provides financial assistance under the 'National Mission on Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual, Heritage Augmentation Drive (PRASHAD)' Scheme with the objective of integrated development of identified pilgrimage and heritage destinations in consultation with the respective State Governments/ Union Territories (UTs).

Financial assistance is also provided under the Swadesh Darshan for the development of tourism infrastructure. The identification of sites is mainly the prerogative of the State Governments/UT Administrations. The projects are sanctioned subject to availability of funds, submission of suitable detailed project reports, adherence to Scheme guidelines, utilization of funds released earlier, etc. The Swadesh Darshan Scheme has been revamped to SD 2.0 for development of sustainable and responsible tourist destinations and Dwarka has been selected for development under SD 2.0.

This reply was given by Minister of Culture, Tourism and Development of North-Eastern Region Shri G Kishan Reddy in Rajya Sabha yesterday.

NB/SK

(Release ID: 1914493)