GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1097#

ANSWER ON 10.02.2022

PROMOTING TOURISM IN RURAL AREAS OF NORTH EASTERN STATES

1097# SMT. JHARNA DAS BAIDYA:

Will the Minister of **TOURISM** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government is working on any specific plan with the objective of increasing tourism in rural areas;
- (b) if so, the participation of locals and regional people in the said plan;
- (c) whether any plan is proposed by Government to set up Rural Tourism Parks in the hilly and rural areas of North-Eastern States;
- (d) if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) if not, the steps being taken by Government for the same?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF TOURISM

(SHRI G. KISHAN REDDY)

(a) to (e): Development of tourism, including tourism in rural areas and setting up of Rural Tourism Parks, is the primary responsibility of the State Governments/UT Administrations. However, Ministry of Tourism has formulated a Strategy and Roadmap for Rural Tourism, which, inter alia, focuses on developing and promoting local products through tourism subsequently, resulting in generation of income and jobs in rural areas and empower local communities, youth and women, fulfilling the vision of Aatma Nirbhar Bharat.

Ministry of Tourism has sanctioned following projects for development of Rural Circuits under the Swadesh Darshan Scheme in the country:-

(Rupees in crore)

S.	Name	Year of	Project Name	Amt.	Amt.
No.	of	sanction		Sanctioned	Released
	State				
1.	Bihar	2017-18	Development of Gandhi Circuit:	44.65	35.72
			Bhitiharwa- Chandrahia- Turkaulia		
2.	Kerala	2018-19	Development of Malanad Malabar	80.37	23.77
			Cruise Tourism Project		
			Total	125.02	59.49

Apart from the above, Ministry of Rural Development (MoRD) has informed that under their scheme of Shyama Prasad Mukherji Rurban Mission (SPMRM), twenty-one components have been suggested as desirable for the Cluster development and Tourism Promotion is one of the components. State wise list of clusters identified in the country, including North Eastern States, wherein components related to tourism have been taken up, is at Annexure.

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PART (a) TO (e) OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1097# ANSWERED ON 10.02.2022 REGARDING PROMOTING TOURISM IN NORTH EASTERN STATES.

Cluster wise investment proposed under Tourism Promotion Component under SPMRM (Amount Rupees in Crore)			
STATE NAME	CLUSTER NAME	Fund allocated	Fund allocated
		under CGF	under
		under CGF	Convergence
Andaman And Nicobar	Ferrargunj	6.07	14.72
Islands	Terrangung	0.07	14.72
Andhra Pradesh	Araku Valley	2.80	0.00
	Eluru(Rural)	3.01	2.00
	Rampachodavaram	1.54	0.00
Assam	Chandrapur Rurban Cluster	2.49	0.37
	HajoRurban Cluster	3.35	2.89
Bihar	Nauranga	26.41	0.00
Chhattisgarh	Badekanera	0.39	0.10
Dadra And Nagar Haveli And Daman And Diu	Sayli	0.50	0.00
Goa	Xeldem	0.54	0.00
Gujarat	Becharaji	9.76	0.00
	Matied	0.00	0.01
	Ravapar	0.40	0.00
	Shamalaji	9.37	0.01
	Tikar	2.98	5.76
Haryana	Badli	0.19	0.00
	Balla	0.00	1.22
	Ganeshpur	6.05	0.00
Himachal Pradesh	Aut	2.55	1.03
	Ghannahati	0.38	0.14
	Hinner	3.27	0.00
	Moorang	13.33	0.00
	Sangla	1.01	0.00
	Sihunta	0.25	0.03
Jammu And Kashmir	Khumriyal	5.70	5.87

Jharkhand	Aidega	0.00	0.18
	Bicha	0.41	0.25
	Brambe	1.69	0.00
	Dharambahal	3.42	0.98
	Dudhbila	1.98	0.00
	Karaundi	2.48	0.20
	Saradhu	1.90	0.00
	Siyaljori	0.43	0.47
Karnataka	Gurugunta	0.00	1.00
	Haragadde	0.00	3.50
	Holalu	0.00	4.50
Kerala	Edappal Vattamkulam	1.14	0.15
	Kanjikuzhy - Mararikulam North	6.05	43.06
	Pinarayi - Vengad	3.96	3.57
	PunnayoorkulamVadakkekkad	5.43	2.14
	Puthucode-Kavassery	2.19	0.02
	Puthuppally - Manarcad	0.30	0.02
	Tanalur - Niramaruthoor	6.13	0.70
Ladakh	Spituk	6.30	0.28
Lakshadweep	Amini	3.05	0.00
Madhya Pradesh	Achhat	0.72	0.00
	Ramnagar	3.15	0.00
	Simrol	0.90	0.00
Maharashtra	Hartala	3.39	30.86
	Kanholi Bara	0.00	1.76
	Kasatwadi	3.18	1.40
	Khadkala	0.89	2.99
	Loni Kalbhor	0.00	0.10
	Nirgude	0.32	0.01
	Patonda	0.00	0.80
	Vevaji	0.00	0.58
	Yengaon	0.35	0.35
Manipur	Keirao Makting	2.45	5.72
_	Khangabok	0.00	10.68
	Saikul	1.00	3.11

Meghalaya	Chisim Apal	0.11	0.25
	Mawlangwir	2.17	0.00
	Sohkha Cluster	0.80	0.00
Mizoram	Aibawk	4.67	0.31
	East Lungdar	0.45	0.18
	Khawzawl	0.20	1.69
	Thingsulthliah	0.37	0.01
Nagaland	Kohima Sadar	0.70	1.35
Odisha	Kotagarh	0.50	0.30
	Kuarmunda	0.50	0.50
	Raibania	0.50	1.10
Puducherry	Bahour	11.50	34.46
	Thirunallar	7.65	14.85
Punjab	Dhandara (Ludhiana 1)	3.13	0.40
	Sanghol (Fatehgarh Sahib)	3.99	4.98
Rajasthan	Abapura	1.20	0.38
	Bhadar	1.30	0.00
	Bhagora	0.40	0.26
	Gogunda	2.65	1.63
	Majiwala	1.23	0.00
	Peelikhera	0.35	0.00
1	Raniwara Kalan	0.45	0.00
	Salawas	0.43	0.00
Sikkim	Namthang	0.27	1.64
	Soreng	0.86	0.74
Tamil Nadu	Singaperumalkoil	0.25	0.00
Telangana	Bijigirisharif	4.00	0.00
	Choutuppal	0.44	0.00
	Kunthala	0.35	0.00
	Parvathagiri	5.81	5.66
	Sulthanabad	1.40	0.10
	Vennacherla	4.21	0.12
	Yedapally	3.62	0.30
Tripura	Belianchip	0.25	0.00
	Rowa	1.79	0.00

Uttar Pradesh	Bansgaon	1.24	0.00
	Kodai	0.93	0.07
	Mau Mustakil	8.76	0.00
	Midakur	3.57	0.00
	Sri Nagar	1.13	0.00
Uttarakhand	Dhanaulti	7.61	0.00
	Kausani	6.40	0.00
	Paheniya	1.50	0.50
Grand Total		265.17	225.30
