GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.314 ANSWERED ON 19.11.2019

IDENTIFICATION OF ICONIC TOURIST SITES IN ODISHA

314. SHRI SASMIT PATRA:

Will the Minister of **TOURISM** be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of iconic tourism sites which have been identified in Odisha from among the seventeen iconic tourist sites identified by Government;
- (b) if not, the reasons for not identifying them in Odisha; and
- (c) the details of selection criteria for selecting the 17 iconic tourist sites by Government?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (SHRI PRAHLAD SINGH PATEL)

(a) to (c): The Ministry under Development of Iconic Tourism Sites scheme envisages to develop select tourism destinations in the country as benchmark tourism destinations in convergence with other Central Ministries/ Departments/State Governments and Urban Local Bodies and later replicate it at other destinations taking into account the learnings derived from its implementation. Ministry has identified 17 sites in 12 clusters in the country for development as Iconic Tourism Sites namely Taj Mahal & Fatehpur Sikri (Uttar Pradesh), Ajanta & Ellora (Maharashtra), Humayun's Tomb, Red Fort & Qutub Minar (Delhi), Colva (Goa), Amer Fort (Rajasthan), Somnath & Dholavira (Gujarat), Khajuraho (Madhya Pradesh), Hampi (Karnataka), Mahabalipuram (Tamil Nadu), Kaziranga (Assam), Kumarakom (Kerala) and Mahabodhi Temple (Bihar). A number of states including Odisha are not covered under the scheme at present. The selection of sites has been carried out on the basis of existing footfall, regional distribution, potential for development and ease of implementation.
