GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.305 ANSWERED ON 04.02.2020

RELIGIOUS TOURIST CIRCUIT IN UTTAR PRADESH

305. DR. ASHOK BAJPAI:

Will the Minister of **TOURISM** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government has any plan to develop religious tourist circuit in Uttar Pradesh;
- (b) if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (SHRI PRAHLAD SINGH PATEL)

(a) to (c): Ministry of Tourism under the Swadesh Darshan scheme is developing thematic circuits in the country in planned and prioritized manner. Under the scheme fifteen thematic circuits have been identified for development including themes covering religious/spiritual sites in the country, namely: Spiritual Circuit, Ramayana Circuit, Krishna Circuit, Buddhist Circuit, Tirthankar Circuit and Sufi Circuit.

The details of projects sanctioned in Uttar Pradesh under Spiritual Circuit, Ramayana Circuit and Buddhist Circuit theme of Swadesh Darshan scheme are given at **Annexure.**

ANNEXURE

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.305 ANSWERED ON 04.02.2020 REGARDING RELIGIOUS TOURIST CIRCUIT IN UTTAR PRADESH.

THE DETAILS OF PROJECTS SANCTIONED TO THE STATE OF UTTAR PRADESH

(Rs. in crore)

Sl.	Circuit/Sanction	Name of the Project	Amt.
No.	Year		Sanctioned
1	Buddhist Circuit (2016-17)	Development of Srawasti, Kushinagar, & Kapilwastu	99.97
2	Ramayana Circuit (2016-17)	Development of Chitrakoot and Shringverpur	69.45
3	Spiritual Circuit (2016-17)	Development of Shahjahanpur-Basti- Ahar-Aligharh-Kasgunj-Sarosi-Pratapgarh-Unnao-Kaushambi- Mirzapur-Gorakpur- Kairana- Doamr Fiyagunj- Bagpat-Barabanki- Azamgarh	68.39
4	Spiritual Circuit (2016-17)	Development of Bijnor- Meerut- Kanpur- Kanpur Dehat- Banda- Ghazipur- Salempur- Ghosi- Balia- Ambedkar Nagar- Aligarh- Fatehpur- Deoria- Mahoba- Sonbhadra- Chandauli- Mishrikh- Bhadohi	63.77
5	Ramayana Circuit (2017-18)	Development of Ayodhya	133.31
6	Spiritual Circuit (2018-19)	Development of Jewar-Dadri-Sikandrabad-Noida- Khurja-Banda	14.52
7	Spiritual Circuit (2018-19)	Development of Gorakhnath Temple(Gorakhpur), Devipattan Temple (Balrampur) and Vatvashni Temple (Domariyagunj)	21.16
