GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.†126 ANSWERED ON 03.02.2020

SPIRITUAL TOURISM CIRCUITS UNDER SWADESH DARSHAN SCHEME

†126. DR. MANOJ RAJORIA:

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is developing new spiritual circuits in the country under Swadesh Darshan Scheme;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the State Governments have submitted proposals for developing various rural tourism circuits under the said scheme;
- (d) if so, the details thereof;
- (e) whether any rural tourism circuits have been sanctioned under the said scheme; and
- (f) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (SHRI PRAHLAD SINGH PATEL)

(a) to (f): Ministry of Tourism under its Swadesh Darshan Scheme is developing tourism infrastructure in the identified circuits, across the country, having tourist potential in a planned and prioritized manner. Under the scheme fifteen thematic circuits have been identified for development including themes covering religious/spiritual sites in the country, namely: Spiritual Circuit, Ramayana Circuit, Krishna Circuit, Buddhist Circuit, Tirthankar Circuit, Sufi Circuit and Rural Circuit.

Submission of project proposal by the State Governments/Union Territory Administrations and its sanctioning is

a continuous process. The projects under the scheme are identified for development in consultation with the State Governments/Union Territory Administrations and are sanctioned subject to availability of funds, submission of suitable Detailed Project Reports, adherence to scheme guidelines and utilization of funds released earlier.

The details of project sanctioned under the Spiritual Circuit, Ramayana Circuit, Krishna Circuit, Buddhist Circuit, Tirthankar Circuit, Sufi Circuit and Rural Circuit are placed in the annexure.

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (f) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.†126 ANSWERED ON 03.02.2020 REGARDING SPIRITUAL TOURISM CIRCUITS UNDER SWADESH DARSHAN SCHEME.

THE DETAILS OF PROJECTS SANCTIONED UNDER SPIRITUAL, RAMAYANA, KRISHNA, BUDDHIST, TIRTHANKAR, SUFI AND RURAL TOURISM CIRCUIT UNDER THE SWADESH DARSHAN SCHEME DURING LAST THREE YEARS.

SI.	State/	Circuit	Details of the circuit	Sanctioned
No.	year of sanction	name		in Crores
1.	Kerala 2016-17	Spiritual Circuit	Development of Sabarimala - Erumeli-Pampa-Sannidhanam as a Spiritual Circuit in District Pathanamthitta, Kerala.	99.99
2.	Manipur 2016-17	Spiritual Circuit	Development of Spiritual Circuit – Shri Govindajee Temple, Shri BijoyGovindajee Temple – Shri Gopinath Temple – Shri Bungshibodon Temple – Shri Kaina Temple, Manipur.	53.80
3.	Kerala 2016-17	Spiritual Circuit	Development of Sree PadmanabhaArnamula- Sabrimala-as a Spiritual Circuit in Kerala	92.22
4.	Bihar 2016-17	Spiritual circuit	Integrated Development of Kanwaria Route: Sultanganj – Dharmshala- Deoghar under Spiritual circuit in Bihar.	52.35
5.	Uttar Pradesh 2016-17	Spiritual Circuit	Development of Spiritual Circuit (Shahjahanpur- Basti- Ahar-Aligharh- Kasgunj-Sarosi- Pratapgarh-Unnao-	68.39

			Kaushambi- Mirzapur- Gorakpur- Kairana- Doamriyagunj- Bagpat- Barabanki- Azamgarh)	
6.	Uttar Pradesh 2016-17	Spiritual Circuit	Development of Spiritual Circuit –II(Bijnor- Meerut- Kanpur- Kanpur Dehat- Banda- Ghazipur- Salempur- Ghosi- Balia- Ambedkar Nagar- Aligarh- Fatehpur- Deoria- Mahoba- Sonbhadra- Chandauli- Mishrikh- Bhadohi) in Uttar Pradesh under Swadesh Darshan Scheme	63.77
7.	Rajasthan 2016-17	Spiritual Circuit	Development of Spiritual Circuit— Churu (SalasarBalaji)— Jaipur (Shri SamodeBalaji, GhatkeBalaji, BandhekeBalaji)— Alwar (PandupoleHanumanji, Bharathari)— Viratnagar (Bijak, Jainnasiya, Ambika Temple)— Bharatpur (Kaman Region)— Dholpur (Muchkund) — MehandipurBalaji— Chittorgarh (Sanwaliyaji) in Rajasthan under Swadesh Darshan scheme	93.90
8.	Puducherry 2017-18	Spiritual Circuit	Development of Spiritual Circuit in Puducherry under Swadesh Darshan Scheme	40.68
9.	Bihar 2017-18	Spiritual Circuit	Development of Mandar Hill &Ang Pradesh under Spiritual Circuit theme of Swadesh Darshan Scheme.	53.49

10.	Maharashtra	Spiritual	Development of Waki-	54.01
	2018-19	Circuit	Adasa- Dhapewada-	
			Paradsingha- Chota Taj	
			Bagh- Telankhandi- Girad	
			in Maharashtra	
11.	Uttar	Spiritual	Development of Jewar-	14.52
	Pradesh	Circuit	Dadri-Sikandrabad-Noida-	
	2018-19		Khurja-Banda in Uttar	
			Pradesh	
12.	Kerala	Spiritual	Development Sivagiri	69.47
	2018-19	Circuit	Sree Narayana Guru	
			Ashram- Arruvipuram-	
			Kunnumpara Sree	
			Subrahmania-	
			Chembazhanthi Sree	
			Narayana Gurukulam	
13.	Kerala	Spiritual	Development of	85.23
	2018-19	Circuit	Kasaragod, Wayanad,	
			Kannur, Kozhikode,	
			Palakkad, Mallapuram,	
			Thrichur, Ernakulam,	
			Idukki, Kottayam,	
			Allaphuza,	
			Pathanamithitta, Kollam,	
			Trivandrum	
14.	Uttar	Spiritual	Development of	21.16
	Pradesh	Circuit	Gorakhnath Temple	
	2018-19		(Gorakhpur), Devipattan	
			Temple (Balrampur) and	
			Vatvashni Temple	
			(Domariyagunj)	
15.	Uttar	Ramayana	Development of	69.45
	Pradesh	Circuit	Chitrakoot and	
	2016-17		Shringverpur	
16.	Uttar	Ramayana	Development of Ayodhya	133.31
	Pradesh	Circuit		
	2017-18			
17.	Haryana	Krishna	Development of Tourism	97.35
	2016-17	Circuit	Infrastructures at places	
			related to Mahabharata in	
			Kurukshetra	
18.	Rajasthan	Krishna	Integrated Development	91.45
	2016-17	Circuit	of Govind Dev ji temple	

19.	Bihar	Tirthankar	(Jaipur), Khatu Shyam Ji (Sikar) and Nathdwara (Rajsamand) Development of Vaishali-	52.39
	Tirthankar circuit 2016-17	Circuit	Arrah- Masad- Patna- Rajgir- Pawapuri- Champapuri	
20.	Madhya Pradesh 2016-17	Buddhist circuit	Development of Sanchi- Satna-Rewa-Mandsaur- Dhar	74.94
21.	Uttar Pradesh 2016-17	Buddhist circuit	Development of Srawasti, Kushinagar, & Kapilwastu	99.97
22.	Bihar 2016-17	Buddhist circuit	Development of Buddhist circuit- Construction of Convention Centre at Bodhgaya	98.73
23.	Gujarat 2017-18	Buddhist circuit	Development of Junagadh- Gir Somnath- Bharuch-Kutch- Bhavnagar- Rajkot- Mehsana	29.28
24.	Andhra Pradesh 2017-18	Buddhist circuit	Development of: Shalihundam- Thotlakonda- Bavikonda- Bojjanakonda- Amravati- Anupu	52.34
25.	Bihar 2017-18	Rural Circuit	Development of Gandhi Circuit: Bhitiharwa- Chandrahia- Turkaulia	44.65
26.	Kerala 2018-19	Rural Circuit	Development of Malanad Malabar Cruise Tourism Project	80.37
